guilty pleasures

guiltypleasures

I’m with Amanda, in that I don’t feel so guilty about these little treats. When I give myself the gift of enjoying the sorts of things below, I feel a little pampered, a little indulged. A bit like I’m playing hooky from adult responsibility for a few moments. Ah. . .

  • an afternoon cup of coffee, just because, accompanied by a chapter of my current library book
  • watching my favorite Jane Austen movie adaptations, over and over
  • dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds
  • rereading books for the atmosphere they create or the way they make me feel. Not high literature, but winter will always find me returning to The Shell Seekers or Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher, and summer finds me back at Manderley with Rebecca. Each Advent I revisit Mitford with Jan Karon’s Shepherds Abiding.
  • scented candles. I stalk sales, change scents with the seasons, and love discovering a new favorite.
  • wool socks popped in the dryer for a moment
  • knowing what is for dinner that night, at breakfast time
  • the Friday evening feeling, all my people at home, the weekend stretched out before us

What’s your pleasure, guilty or otherwise? Could you give yourself the gift of one today?

 

 

Gratefully writing (and photographing)

along with other lovely folks

Write ALM January Prompt-A-Day

 

Joining in: Β Lists with Friends 2014

25 thoughts on “guilty pleasures

  1. Katy

    I enjoy all of these. My “guilty” pleasureis spending time keeping up wih friends, far and wide. I find this necessary for my survival. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      I love those little things that are just fun, and it is fascinating to me that for almost everybody I know, they are inexpensive, easily obtained, homey pleasures.

      Reply
  2. Small Talk

    hmm … dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds. Haven’t had those before. Will have to try. My current scented candle fav is a soy candle called Boticario de Havana – Bergamot, Cuban Tobacco Leaf and Ylang-Ylang – pricey but oh my. On cold nights, woolen socks warmed up in the dryer right before bed is the best. Also try a soft towel warmed up. Heaven. The dream of all that is possible for any given weekend stretching out before me – sigh.

    Reply
  3. Susie

    Oh I like this list very much. I think one that tops my list is a small piece of chocolate after lunch. I recently switched over to dark chocolate, less guilt, but still a Guilty pleasure!

    Reply
  4. Aimee

    Getting under my down comforter every afternoon for reading and rest.
    Watching a movie or Doc Martin in bed with Mike.
    Fuzzy socks and flannel pajamas and vintage pillowcases.
    Knitting or crocheting in bed while listening to Spotify.
    Can you tell that all my things have to do with my bed?! Always have had a love affair with it since I was a young child. I even did all my college work sitting cross-legged on my bed.

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      I love your list Aimee! I feel the same about “my” corner of our sofa and my plushest throw!

      I think I need to institute a rest time each afternoon. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  5. maryjo1997

    I definitely think guilty pleasures are a must!
    For me it’s a small piece of chocolate each day. A few minutes in the morning just sitting in the quiet after the kids get off to school and checking in on the ipad. And even a few reality tv shows like America’s Next Top Model πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Janet

    Sitting, listening to Nature Sounds Radio on Pandora, and reading blogs like this one. So simple, so beautiful. Thank you for your beautiful written words πŸ™‚ Love visiting here.

    Reply
  7. Kathie

    I’ve never tried dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds and I’m allergic to wool but other than those two, I love all your favourites. And Doc Martin. And D E Stevenson’s books esp. the Miss Buncle series – a winter cosy read. Or listening to an audio Librivox recording of a favourite childhood story like A Little Princess or Eight Cousins.

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      Yay for Doc Martin! (I must see if there are most episodes available to the US now!)

      What a good idea to listen to childhood favorites! I’m going to do that my next big baking day!

      Reply
      1. Kathie

        Baking days are the times I listen too πŸ™‚ Check out kayray.org – she’s a librivox reader but she also has her own website and has recorded a number of great books.

  8. tonia

    All of yours are delicious. I claim those. And black tea with honey at all hours of the day. And murder mysteries (books and TV). And any kind of handwork with good TV. (Good is subjective to my mood and fancy, nothing else.) Naps in the afternoon. Piles of blankets. A cocktail at night. Book buying. Dark chocolate with nuts. *happy sigh*

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      Ah, yes friend, and I agree about “good TV–” hee! Happy not to defend my queue on Netflix or Amazon to anyone else’s standards. πŸ™‚ Your yummy list makes me want to think of more little delights. Might have to do a part two. . .

      Reply

Leave a Reply

