Then Came November

A little mist is rising here this morning, from the frost-glazed grass. We’ve turned October’s golden corner. November settles us more fully into the idea that winter is coming, both cold and cozy.

I’m coming by here this morning so thankful to have wrapped myself in Belovedness for the month of October. For those of you who came and read and looked in the mirror and down the tunnel of the past and across the family room and across the ocean and saw Belovedness wrapped all around and through, I am grateful.

Many days when I came here to write, I could only feel, see, my own brokenness, all the places that seem sharp and unlovable. I see through a glass darkly. But maybe the commitment is always only to keep looking, to keep trusting that all the pieces, somewhere, are gathered together in gentle Hands.

If October’s assurance was “You are beloved,” and the first of November’s question is “Now what are you going to do with it?” then perhaps the calendar itself, this month, gives the first best answer. We turn our hearts to thankfulness. As the year turns toward the dark and quiet wait of winter, gratitude is that good turning over and under what we’ve been given, seedbed in the making for life to grow.

I’ll be back with more of the making and baking and pondering and planning that are my daily portion.

What is your portion as November begins?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Then Came November

  1. Trish

    Oh, to learn to be thankful in each moment! It seems like such a simple thing, but it is so hard for me to do sometimes. Yet, we have so much for which to be thankful! Grace that satisfies, love that overwhelms, peace beyond understanding, forgiveness so undeserved, acceptance that amazes, and hope that keeps us going. Thank you, Missy, for the reminder that what we do with all of that is give thanks.

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      Trish–

      It all comes down to thanksgiving, doesn’t it, or we miss the beloveds, pass right by. When life is a Thanksgiving Day plate, heaped with good things!

      Blessings to you,
      Missy

      Reply
  2. Kris

    I think sometimes our own perspective is so much more jagged and sharp than that of others. When you saw brokenness and lack, I saw an open, willing heart. The beautiful rhythm of your belovedness posts last month first drew me in to read your blog, and now I am blessedly hooked.

    It is a good question that once we recognize and can name belovedness…what will we do with it? Will we hide it or deny it in times of strife and busyness or will we choose to spread it and magnify its love?

    My prayer for myself this month is one that I often consider but far less often consciously work to chage: That I will do everything – everything – with a grateful, eyes-wide-open heart. That I will see the miniscule blessings I rush by every day for what they are – God smiling, laughing, and loving me.

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      Kris– Thank you for answering the question with such thoughtfulness. I know busyness is often the thief I let steal both my own perception of my beloved life, and my broadcast of belovedness. I love how you referred to this as magnification– as a visually impaired person, magnification makes all the difference to me!

      Thanks for reading, and for writing– let’s make November an “eyes wide open” month!
      blessings,
      Missy K

      Reply
  3. Kimberly

    I have enjoyed your entire series, though I was not able to comment, I did enjoy each one. Thank you for taking the time to encourage us all.
    Goodness! Somehow with sickness, husband’s travel and all thing related to the cow, I barely escaped October. Here’s to hoping for a better November!
    I am planning a personal retreat for this month and so excited about it. That is my focus today.

    Reply
    1. adailyportion Post author

      Kimberly,
      I have kept up with your October happenings over at your blog– yikes! Wishing you a November of quiet and peace– how does that sound?
      Blessings to you!
      Missy K

      Reply
  4. Kristin Blankenship

    Gratitude! Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts (which you introduced to me last year in your blog!) so beautifully opened my eyes to this essential ingredient in our lives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

