Day Four: Beloved Identity from a Broken Childhood

I was such a good girl. I mean, I had this vision impairment that made me sort of burdensome and my arrival was perhaps dismaying to some. But I was good, so good. Obedient and smart but not too smart. Silent when the house was loud with silence, cheerful and helpful and downright obsequious when it seemed my flurry of goodness could halt the flying slings and arrows of our family life.

It never worked.

And there is an ongoing wounding when a child’s feet, instead of firm on a bedrock of beloved, dance and slide on a treacherous morass of performance and failure. Words and wordless, seeping silences harm, not like fists, but more like a slow smothering. That little girl questions her right to be on the earth, her most foundational worth, her purpose and identity. In the absence of beloved, identity can become the dance and scramble itself. “See me. Call me. Name me. Claim me. Please?”

How can a woman broken and wounded by such a childhood heal?

I’ve found the answers in how God calls me in His Word.

 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!

1 John 3:1

All through Scripture He calls me His child. From a childhood not steeped in a sense of beloved identity, I’ve discovered a God eager to parent me in tender, fundamental ways. This is not a pop-psychology joke about nurturing my inner child, but a process of unlearning formative hurt and allowing my sense of who I was created to be to be transformed.

I have a dear friend who also has a hard history to be unlearned. A long time ago she shared with me something she made in counseling as part of this process. Her “truth cards” were a spiral bound set of index cards. On one side of each card was a dark belief she had held about herself and her life. And on the reverse, Scripture refuted each sad accusation with truth. It was a physical tool for the soul renewal needed by a child who needed to grow in her beloved identity.  Our knee jerk responses to trouble, stress or earthly rejection may come out of our broken history, but slowly those responses can be replaced with ones on accord with our value and beloved birthright.

I’ve become like a child. I’m reminded with gracious gentleness and patience who and Whose I am.

Beloved.

 

6 thoughts on “Day Four: Beloved Identity from a Broken Childhood

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Belovedness in October « adailyportion

  2. Jamie Shafer

    Lovely post, as always full of wisdom. 🙂

    And you were not just generically smart, (frankly you are one of the smartest people I know) you were just always really humble about it, which still makes you such a treasure to know. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Ruthi

    I remember you sharing about those “truth cards” as we gathered in a circle on that porch in North Carolina. What a powerful tool those are. I agree with Jamie… you are a wise woman. Looking forward to tomorrow.

    Reply
  4. kristinblankenship

    I appreciate your vulnerability here, Missy. It is not easy to share our own hurt, and yet it is the stuff that makes us real and that which God transforms into His beauty. Your are allowing God to use you in such lovely ways. Years ago, I worked with a counselor to learn to replace my own distorted thinking with more rational thoughts and I have to say, it made a huge impact on my coping abilities. That said, I love the idea of the “truth cards!”

    Reply
  5. Pingback: The Spaces in December « adailyportion

Leave a Reply

