Make It Real Monday

This post title sounds a lot like the beginning of a series. We’ll see. . . I would love a regular place to report back on my efforts to better connect online and offline living. This is coinciding with my annual autumnal desire to clear out some of the half-finished projects and stray materials hanging around as I cozy up the house for colder weather. I’m also trying new recipes and crafts in a back-to-school quickening of curiosity that always comes with this time of year.

So, today’s project is a general response to all the creative photo displays I’ve seen all over the web. Gone are the days when our only option is a traditional frame or photo album. I wanted to create a display of my nature photography that could change out seasonally. And I wanted to spend very little money. I’ll take you through my steps.

  1. When we installed a closet organizer in the boys’ closet some time ago, we had a couple of long boards that had been shelves. One was cut down to become another shelf in the bathroom closet, but my husband cut the remaining pieces into squares for me. They are 11 1/2 inches square. The longer, wider piece of wood is a shelf from a kitchen cart we used to have. I kept it with some kind of art project in mind.
  2. All the boards were already primed with white paint. I sprayed them with Krylon black spray paint, satin finish. ย When they were dry, I lightly sanded the edges to give them a slightly weathered look. (The edges were pretty rough, so this made them seem intentional. ๐Ÿ™‚
  3. I had several of my favorite nature photographs from last autumn printed as 8 inch by 8 inch prints at Costco.
  4. I measured to center the photos on the square wooden pieces, and positioned them where I wanted on the longer board. A bit of gluestick held them in place while I tapped in sliver upholstery tacks. I’ll be hanging the trio together once I get John’s vote on a location.
  5. The oblong piece will be part of my autumn mantel with some river rocks and candles.

Total cost for this project was about $12. I had the wood, the photos were $1.49 each, the spray paint about $3.50, and the tacks came 30 to a package for $1.

This was a fun project that came together quickly. Very satisfying for a first Make It Real.

So, what are you making real today?

 

5 thoughts on “Make It Real Monday

  1. Jamie Shafer

    Love it! What a great idea. You’re inspiring as usual…

    I’m still hoping just to get pictures into frames. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Trish

    So creative! I love the idea of not having to buy frames because I never can find what I want. For my “making it real”, yesterday afternoon I made 2 jars of lacto-fermented dill pickles. I guess you could call this “real” because the process is a very old, traditional way of making pickles without vinegar. You let them ferment just like you would make sauerkraut. I added lots of garlic and mustard seeds and black peppercorns, so hopefully, they’ll be tasty!

    Reply
  3. Meg

    beautiful! I love the idea of the upholstery tacks… would have never thought of that on my own! for my make it real monday, I designed a logo for another church which is also a multisite, like our little budding church. ok, technically, it isn’t “real” as it is a computer design, but still, at least i made something! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

